Founded in 1871, the Bar Association of the District of Columbia (BADC) is one of the oldest bar associations in the nation.

The BADC and its members have a proud history of working closely with the judiciary, courts, the DC Council, and the US Congress on the administration of justice.

As DC’s voluntary bar it lobbies on behalf of its members, provides the only lawyer referral service in DC, and mentors young lawyers.

This year marks the 146th year the BADC has promoted civility, justice, and collegiality among members of the legal profession in the capital through advocacy, education, and social events.


  • Erin M. Dunston
    Erin M. Dunston President
  • Matthew G. Kaiser
    Matthew G. Kaiser President-Elect
  • Allen P. Grunes
    Allen P. Grunes Treasurer
  • Celina W. Stewart
    Celina W. Stewart Treasurer-Elect
  • Matthew L. Fedowitz
    Matthew L. Fedowitz Secretary
  • Nancy E. Nunan
    Nancy E. Nunan Immediate Past-President

Board of Directors

  • David Benowitz
    David Benowitz
  • Steven A. Cash
    Steven A. Cash
  • Andrew N. Cook
    Andrew N. Cook
  • Carrie F. Cordero
    Carrie F. Cordero
  • Hon. Noel T. Johnson
    Hon. Noel T. Johnson
  • Michael W. Lieberman
    Michael W. Lieberman
  • David W. Long
    David W. Long
  • Nancy H. Lutz
    Nancy H. Lutz
  • Hon. Stuart G. Nash
    Hon. Stuart G. Nash
  • Dominic G. Vorv
    Dominic G. Vorv


Download the current BADC Bylaws: PDF version, Word version