The BADC’s “Judge of the Year” award is bestowed upon a member of the judiciary who has distinguished him or herself in the administration of justice in the District of Columbia.

Congratulations to our 2018-2019 Recipient!

Honorable Eric T. Washington (Ret.)

Past Recipients

2017-2018 Judge Emmet G. Sullivan
2016-2017 Honorable Nan R. Shuker
2015-2016 Judge Diane M. Brenneman
2014-2015 Honorable John M. Facciola
2013-2014 Honorable Lee F. Satterfield
2012-2013 Chief Judge Royce C. Lamberth
2011-2012 Judge Merrick B. Garland
2010-2011 Judge Inez Smith Reid
2009-2010 Judge Paul L. Friedman
2008-2009 Chief Judge Paul R. Michel
2007-2008 Judge Gladys Kessler
2006-2007 Judge Stephanie Duncan-Peters
2005-2006 Chief Judge Rufus G. King III
2004-2005 Judge Thomas Penfield Jackson
2003-2004 Justice Sandra Day O’Connor
2002-2003 Chief Judge Thomas F. Hogan
2001-2002 Chief Judge Harry T. Edwards
2000-2001 Chief Judge Annice M. Wagner
1999-2000 Chief Judge Norma Holloway Johnson
1998-1999 Chief Judge Frank Q. Nebeker
1997-1998 Chief Judge Loren A. Smith
1996-1997 Chief Judge Eugene N. Hamilton
1995-1996 Judge William B. Bryant
1994-1995 Judge Joyce Hens Green
1993-1994 Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg
1992-1993 Chief Judge Helen Nies
1991-1992 Justice William J. Brennan, Jr. & Judge James A. Belson
1990-1991 Chief Judge Aubrey E. Robinson, Jr. & Chief Judge Fred B. Ugast
1989-1990 Justice Lewis F. Powell, Jr.
1988-1989 Justice Thurgood Marshall